Cooking attempt #1

I contemplated really hard as to whether I should post this up or not. I have no idea what this dish would be called, but it’s basically simmered broccoli, red bell peppers and shitake mushrooms. Along with it is some pan simmered (?) noodles. It turned out surprisingly nice actually. These pictures were taken on impulse while cooking and it doesn’t look exactly good but that’s what happens when you are cooking and trying to snap the best picture at the same time. I’d still give myself points for effort though! And my partner liked it, so I don’t think it was bad at all. 😀

What I did was make my own soup stock from scratch. I am particularly proud of being able to make my soup stock from fresh ingredients as I used to rely on packaged soup stock that can be found in supermarkets. I added chicken with bones, parsley, corriander, onions, garlic and some chili to the pot and filled it with water. I left it to boil and then simmer for around an hour. When it’s done, I removed the chicken and separated the meat from the bones, and kept the soup aside.

Next I stir fried some garlic in olive oil on my pan and added the red bell peppers and mushrooms. Then I put some of the soup stock in the pan and added the broccoli and left it to simmer. After that I used the remaining soup stock to boil and cook the noodles. When it was cooked, I put it in the pan and stir fry (?) it a little and added a little light soy sauce.

I mentioned that I stir fry, but there wasn’t any real frying just lots of stirring in the pan.. So I really have no idea how to describe it!

Well, there you have it. An attempt on stir-frying noodles and a very bad description of my dish on this blog. Today’s lesson also made me aware that I have very little utensils I can use at home, but it was really fun!

10 thoughts on “Cooking attempt #1

  1. I’ve never tried to do my own soup stock before as the soups I know of are usually cream-based — the usually decadent kind, lol. Anyway, I’ll probably do another round of detox soon. My skin started acting up again and I’m not sure whether it’s
    due to a product I recently tested or my recent sugar indulgences!

    Do you always buy organic produce?

    -Vivi

    • Hello Vivi! If you prefer cream based soup you can always add cream to it actually. Like for mushroom soups, you just need to add flour and cream to the soup stock you made. I buy organic vegetables and groceries (whenever I can) and organic skincare products too, but I try to use minimal products on my face. How about you! 😀

  2. hi cassie, you can order organic produce online from Green Circle Ecofarm, they will deliver right to your doorstep… now that you are into cooking your own stock/soup etc.. you may want to try growing your own greens too…

    my mother is a breast cancer warrior for 2 years now.. and has been on Gerson Therapy (based on mostly raw food… fruit and green juices)… so I know how being dependent on organic produce can make a serious dent in finances…so if you are really serious about being all organic.. start growing your greens.. by starting small

    Gerson Green Juice and Malunggay Juice (Moringa Oleifera)

    • Hello 🙂 I was just looking through your blog. I’m sorry to hear about your mother’s illness but very happy to hear she is doing well now. I have seen Green Circle Ecofarm before but never visited their website. After your recommendation I will be sure to look it up. I did think of planting some herbs of my own, but is it difficult to plant in apartments in Singapore? I don’t get ideally as much sunlight at my place as compared to a garden.

      • i know a lot of people can grow herbs with limited sunlight and a few who grow coriander in HDB corridors… just try one at a time.. am not a very good gardener.. my mother is… she can grow anything from seeds, stem cuttings in pots, plastic bags even coconut shells :)… heheheh my first try in gardening is actually sprouting mongo seeds… how happy I was to see the sprouts and actually eat it.. my second try is planting avocado from the seed.. cause I love avocado… and someone told me that boiling avocado leaves and drinking it as a tea.. helps clear the kidney…

      • Is it advisable to plant herbs in the kitchen balcony? I read that planting will attract bugs and since I’m not very keen on planting them outside along the corridor, I am thinking of planting them in my kitchen balcony but am afraid I will bring lots of bugs into my kitchen! I wish I had a garden full of space and sunlight, but land space is so limited in Singapore!

What do you think?